Swamps

Major things seem so different when they happen to people you’re close to. Or do they?

This month has been absolutely crazy. Earlier this month, my dad got stabbed. Several weeks later, my best friend got married, just after a month of engagement and three-to-four years of relationship. One event happened suddenly, without warning, and one was calculated, albeit very quickly.

Part of me still can’t believe that either of those things happened. I don’t want either of them to have happened (although one of them was a very happy, momentous occasion). When you hear about these things happening to other people, you just brush it off because it doesn’t really affect you that much. But these people are my kin and very close friend, and I just can’t help but brush it off. I don’t know what it is, I just feel like these things don’t affect my life all that much–that things will return to normal after a little bit of time, and if they don’t, then I’ll just get used to the way thing will be. I find that things don’t affect me that much even if they happen to me: I was hospitalized last year and now I’m just living life like it didn’t ever happen.

Waiting for things to go back to normal is impossible. Because things will never go back to normal. “It’s kind of like you’re going down a hallway, and all of a sudden the building collapses and you fall through the floor. Now you can go down this new hallway, but you can’t return to the hallway where you started.” – a very wise person I know.

The permanency of change is partially due to growing up, and growing up is partially due to the permanancy of change. Right when you sit down and get comfortable with where you are in life, something will happen, and you will be forced to make decisions that will change your life forever.

You should not lament change; you should welcome it. After all, a stagnant life is a life not worth living.

Leave a Reply

