Dear KEPC

I apologize for my recent absences from bible study. There’s something that’s been on my mind for a long time and I haven’t really had a good opportunity to bring it up. Thus, here it is: I will no longer be attending KEPC regularly.

Now before you make any more assumptions, I will say that this decision has been on my mind for some time now. I can’t say with certainty that it has ever felt right to attend two churches regularly. Some people saw it as betrayal; others wondered why I simply didn’t switch churches. While I assured them that my attending Friday night bible studies was in order to develop my own faith, I always wondered if this really was a good method.

This year’s retreat really made an impact on me. I found it pretty coincidental that the theme of the retreat was the same as the old mission statement of my own church, but we all know that with God, nothing is a coincidence. “All in.” It’s so simple, yet so convicting.

Prior to retreat, I thought I was doing all I could to be “All in” for God, and on top of doing all the stuff I was doing between churches, I was maintaining relationships with people from both. But retreat broke down the walls around my heart and made me realize I wasn’t doing everything I could. When I asked God what I could do differently, He essentially told me that I should be investing in the people who attend my own church–attending two churches and juggling relationships caused me to spread myself thin and prevented me from getting into deep relationships with anyone at all. Of course, I was resistant to His answer; it hadn’t been the first time I’d heard it, but ultimately I decided I should give it all up to God.

I want to thank you all for the experiences and for the time I’ve been blessed to have spent with you. You have taught me so much about myself, about relationships, and of course, about God. Although I’m reluctant to leave, I’m never going to regret coming out to bible study on a weekly basis.

This is not a “good-bye.” Rather, it is a “see you later.” I’ll definitely still attend large events that you hold (though they may be few) and I’ll probably see a few of you around UW campus. I’d also like to make a donation toward the cafe if it’s still possible. πŸ˜›

See you guys around!

Sincerely, Jason

One thought on “Dear KEPC

  1. You are always welcomed at Emmanuel. I have been attending two churches for 1.5years now. But I made it clear to the other church that I am only there to attend. I have been attending because I was getting fed and learning and also building kingdom. I definitely feel that churches need to learn to support each others ministry. I see the lack of support when one church starts to fall there is no support from the churches around. That is something I hope to see change in the coming years. I try to support all churches. I’m glad you are focusing on building your church/ministry but I believe its ok to adventure out or build kingdom/relationships with others because its not just about your own church. We are all supposed to be one church, one Christ and one family. Glad you shared πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

