Hats in society

Hats have too much of an impact on our view of a person nowadays–even more so than other articles of clothing. It’s easy to judge a person by the hat he wears, isn’t it? If someone wears a loose baseball cap, it’s pretty easy to get an idea of what kind of person he is. If someone wears a cowboy hat (and it’s not Halloween), it’s a pretty big giveaway as to where that person is from.

But I like hats. I’m disappointed that I was born in the era directly after the one where hats were in style. I want to wear a fedora while I’m walking around, having it mismatch completely, without looking weird.

If you pay attention though, you’ll see that there is still interest in hats. If someone wears a hat to school (other than a beanie or a baseball cap), he’ll take it off and be surrounded by people taking interest in it. They’ll want to put it on themselves and play with it. So why have hats fallen so out of fashion?

Maybe there was a surge of hair styles in the 70s and 80s. Maybe it’s the fact that hats now are so expensive. I don’t know at all.

I just know that I love hats.

Leave a Reply

