Anniversary

Looking through the yearbook from last year, I’m kind of surprised by how many people said I made an impact on their lives. Actually, it’s kind of silly. The number of people I kept in contact with dropped drastically after several months of summer, and I don’t think that number is going to be very high again very soon.

Seriously, though, I think people were just writing good things in my yearbook because they felt obligated to do so. I even got phone numbers. I barely had interaction with some of these people, too. People making assumptions… telling me they’ve heard my name tossed around… telling me they think I’m quiet / shy (but really awesome / smart / nice / funny inside!1!!1!)… Hearts. lots of hearts. “What note is this?” Drawings. Promises to make plans in the (presumably near) future.

I don’t get it. I tried to follow up with some of these peoples’ requests, but to no avail. It’s pretty obvious, then, that either they were lying through their teeth (Sharpies) or just decided that they had other priorities right after school ended. But didn’t we all? College started, which means studying and classes and obviously for a lot of them, partying. That doesn’t mean you have to leave your old friends in the dust as you drink yourself to death.

Whatever. It’s gone. Memories will remain memories and if you dwell in them for too long, you lose sight of what’s to come. So I’m here to warn you not to make the same mistake I did: dwelling in the pain will only make it hurt more. Move on,  be proactive and make a difference in someone’s life.

2 thoughts on “Anniversary

  1. I kinda know how you feel from this stuff. I remember how in 8th grade, I got a yearbook and had tons of people sign it. I was so excited for summer to hang out with all the people who gave their #s and emails. But sadly, I didn’t spend time with any of them at all. So after that year (and freshman year of having a piece of paper for people to sign), I gave up on relying on those who gave me fake promises. That’s why sophomore ysummer

    • (*crap, sorry, my phone got dumb)
      So thats why in my summer after sophomore year, I just tried out doing summer school at Edmonds. I made new friends and actually got to have a somewhat social life during summer. I really liked it, so I continued doing stuff at Edmonds by attending running start. That’s why I am also going to do summer quarter again, because I know that i would do nothing and be all depressed and disappointed during the summer, which isn’t very enjoyable…
      Oh, and also, you HAVE made a difference in meine life, Jason! I’m uber super glad I met you! Like how we annoyed Jillian and Serena on the bus… That was fun

Leave a Reply

