fruit snacks

As this quarter comes to a close (yes, another post about college), I’m reminded of the academic progress I’ve made–not only through this quarter, but also through my entire life.

I think about the connections and satire between works, and I think back to how I would never have been able to make these connections when I was younger.

But as I was reflecting on my analytical life, I wondered, “why do we do these things?” Why do we have to analyze everything we do? Why must we analyze what people say, write, or think? Everybody just lives and dies anyway. There’s no point in becoming more intelligent.

Then it hit me. We need to become more intelligent so we can leave a better world for tomorrow–so our kids don’t make the same mistakes we did.

And even though this should be the general process of thought, it doesn’t always work out the way it should. Take, for example, the Holocaust and the discrimination in America in the 60s. Those were the epitome of barbarism. We tried to control nature, and by doing so, we ended up destroying ourselves.

It’s surprising that human nature still dominates over morals. Of course, that might not always be a good thing, either, but we can see this back on the rise. I soon see the further discrimination of gays in the near future.

It’s a storm that’s coming. And we can’t do anything about it.

Leave a Reply

