Play.

I’ve been trying to come up with a way to describe all my passions in one word. And I’ve finally thought of it: play. I love to play.

All right, I love to play video games. I won’t lie. But the other thing I like to do is play music. I “love” music.

Well. People say that they love music. But I don’t think I can say the same. You see, to love, to love music, you have to love all of it. Or else you don’t love music. You just love some of it. This includes but isn’t limited to Justin Black, Rebecca Bieber, the erhu and even Opera.

You can’t love music without understanding it. And you can’t understand any music unless you listen to it using the perspective of the person or people who created it. Just because you listen to and enjoy a piece of music doesn’t mean you understand it.

Leave a Reply

