Words/phrases I dislike hearing

Alright, I’ve held back on this one because I wanted more time to compile as many as I possibly could. But here goes:

Same difference:

It really really bothers me when people use this in everyday language. As far as I know, people equate this phrase to “same thing,” but I don’t think they’re the same. I’ve only used the phrase while talking about math, when two equation’s differences are the same–hence, “Same difference.” “Same difference” and “same thing’ are opposite. At least, they are to me.

“Who cares?”:

It irritates me when people say this. Especially to me. I care, obviously, because I took the time and effort to mention it to you. If you don’t care, awesome. It doesn’t mean that nobody else in the world cares. Saying “who cares” implies that nobody in the world cares.

The “n” word:

I don’t know why it irritates me so much when people use this word. It’s completely unnecessary, for one, and it came from a historical slur. I don’t know. It seems like it’s not my business to care about such things because they don’t pertain to me, but……. I just dislike it. A lot.

“I love you”:

People who go to my church know this one. I once saw a sticker that said, “‘Hate’ is a strong word, yet we throw around ‘love’ like it’s nothing.” This is true. People say “I love you” to their spouses and turn around and say, “I love that outfit!” or “I love these meatballs!” Really, now. Do you really love those meatballs as much as you love your wife? Here’s an idea: instead of telling your wife how much you love her, take out the need by showing it to her.

“FML!!!!”: Wow. Stop whining. Go live in a third-world country like Nigeria, or …. *ahem* HAITI… and then try saying “FML.”

“?”: GAH. I really hate it when I say something and people respond with a simple “?” I always have to follow up with a “what?” because this question mark is so… ambiguous. Are you asking “what?” in a shorter way, or are you questioning how I said a certain thing, or what? Be specific, dangit!

“PHAT”: This word was popular back when I was in elementary school, but I still hear it float around sometimes. As far as I know, the word was created as the company Phat Farm came into creation, which is a designer clothing store. People use it to mean “cool” or something. “Man, that movie was really phat.” Wow, I say. Was the movie about McDonald’s? Or did it eat there? Or what?

“That’s really gay”/”retarded”: You’re equating gay people to stupidity just because they’re part of a minority. If that’s not offensive, I don’t know what is. What if I said, “Man, that’s so atheist.” or “Man, that’s so liberal.” What would you think, then?

“You’re weird.” : I’ve blogged about this before, but I still hear it being said. What, do you think, gives you the right to call someone else “weird”? You’re just as unique as the next person; if not physically, then emotionally, mentally.

5 thoughts on “Words/phrases I dislike hearing

  1. I’m only going to address the “I love you” one. Yes, we use the same word to say that we “love” the people special to us as the word we use to say we “love” Subway. But there really is a slight difference.

    It’s not very muddled when you’re in an actual loving relationship. When I say I love my necklace, then turn around and tell Dylan that I love him, he knows my feelings for him are stronger than my feelings for the necklace. And I also really appreciate hearing him say “I love you”. One could say that I love hearing him say that. So I wouldn’t say “STOP SAYING I LOVE YOU” because that’s just ridiculous. We show each other that we love each other on top of saying the words.

    When you’re talking about objects or celebrities (most of the time) people know you’re level of love is different.

  2. Well, I don’t think the “You’re weird” one is that horrible. I mean, if someone said that to me I’d take it as a compliment. Perhaps I’m just odd like that, but I do believe I’m not the only one who doesn’t take it defensively. Did you think that if someone like me thinks “You’re weird” as a compliment that they would give it out as a compliment as well? It would just be saying “You’re cute” or “you’re handsome” is depends on the persons tone of voice. I don’t think you should categorize this phrase as purely being bad. After all, the tone of your voice accounts for 38% of how people receive what you are saying…words only account for 7%.
    (The final 55% is body language incase you were wondering)

Leave a Reply

