Have you ever….?

Sorry I haven’t posted in a while. School has been preventing me from thinking freely. Yeah, I totally DID just say that.

_________________________________________________________________

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in an alternate universe? An alternate reality?

Well, I have.

Have you wondered what it would be like to wake up one day and have a different name?

A different family? A different mother, father, brother, sister? To have a dog instead of a cat?

What if you lived in a different state? What if you drank chocolate milk one day, rather than regular milk?

These things all seem so infinitesimal, so irrelevant. Especially that last one.

And we must always remember Newton’s  third law of motion *(which don’t only apply to motion):

Every action has an equal and opposite reaction.

In other words, every thing you do, every thing you  say, every thing you THINK…

Has an effect on the future.

If your father had never met your mother, you may not even exist. He may have married someone else. You’d look different, have different brothers or sisters, different name, a different life altogether.

If you had a dog rather than a cat, maybe you wouldn’t be out one night, looking for your dog that ran away. You may actually have studied and passed that math test the next day. Earned that 4.0. Went to Harvard Med. Discovered a cure for cancer. Changed the world.

If you had chocolate milk rather than regular, the chocolate-y goodness wouldn’t have caused you to feel lazy, slack off on the excersizing, gain weight, keep gaining weight, and die from diabetes.

It’s all so crazy, isn’t it?

If you went back in time and killed a mosquito, you may just have prevented malaria from spreading. Then Africans would super populate the earth.

Do you still wish you had a different mother, father or pet?

I don’t. At least, not anymore.

Because through the last few years, there’s one thing I’ve learned, if anything:

Everything happens for a reason.

2 thoughts on “Have you ever….?

  1. AKA: Chaos theory. To a degree. Especially the part about the killing the mosquito at the end. I dont know much about Chaos Theory, so I wont pretend to.
    This reminded me in part about a quantum physics theory about parallel universes. It states (in a highly oversimplified version) that every choice we make effects everything around us to a certain degree. Whenever you make a choice, you have also, simultaneously made the opposite choice in negative. Every time you make a choice a new universe branches out from the one we are living in, yet no universe is less or subordinate to any other. They are parallel. So there is a universe where Kennedy wasnt assassinated, and one where you didnt brush your teeth this morning. This made me think, what woud it be like to visit parallel universes?
    I have thought about having a different father or mother a lot, because my mom had a different guy ask her to marry him at one point. I have asked, how would I be different? Then I asked, would I still be me? Would I be identifiable as myself. No, the creation of me would no longer exist, I am a sum of my expiriences, and with different parents… I cant have different parents because as soon as the change occurs I have ceased to exist. So who might I have been? What other person was destroyed for the creation of me? Did they ever exist? In a parallel universe…

Leave a Reply

