Picture = 1,000 words.

Today in English class, the teacher put up a picture and we were given about ten minutes to write down whatever came to our head. I, sitting in the back, couldn’t see the picture clearly, so I mistook the picture for a man and a woman leaning against a railing, rather than three women.

 

Anyway, here’s what I wrote in response to this picture:

Laura and I walked down the pier. The smell of salt water and the sound of waves caressing the dock struck me. For a moment, I felt pure bliss. This was my home. This was where I was meant to be. I had dreamed, as a child, of a life at sea, whether it be pillaging and pirating or fishing. I momentarily fell into a trance as I imagined what it would be like to be a sailor.

“Sean!” Laura snapped me out of my dream. “Look at those houses. They’re simply beautiful.” We stopped and leaned against the railing to study them more. I stared at them, examining their dark roofs and windows that once showed life–if nothing, now. “I wonder what it would be like to live here.”

“Do you want to know?” I asked.

“If it’s possible, yeah,” she replied. Little did she know, I had made a few visits here before this one. Little did she know, I would be proposing to her that day, on a boat in the middle of the sea. Little did she know… the house she was looking at… was soon to be ours.

_________________________________________________________

 

I thought it was okay. The plot is kind of all over the place, but I think it’s decent for a ten-minute write.

Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Picture = 1,000 words.

Leave a Reply

