PDYM reflection

Alright. This post is very not-fluent. Reader beware.

I know it’s a little late for this, but honestly, I was looking through the PDYM notes and memories came flooding back. Here’s a few things that caught my eye:

On the first page, I wrote in big, bold letters:

IDEAL vs. ACTUAL

I guess Pastor Doug was saying something about the ideal leader and the actual leader.

I saw a bunch of things that said “suprise!” and the ten steps to living your life.

1. God gets your attention.

2. You say, “Here I am.”

3. You see a deed.

4. Suprise! God wants you to meet that need.

5. You doubt. “Who am I?”

6. God ansers, “I will be with you.”

7. You do the possible.

8. God does the impossible.

9. You don’t waste your life.

10. God is pleased.

These ten steps are reinforced by three basic guidelines.

1. Be willing to be surprised.

2. Surprise your leaders.

3. Surprise! You are a leader.

The overall goal of this is to become who you (already) are!

There were a few other things I remembered…  this kind of striked me and stuck with me. It is this:

“Leaders are learners. Once you stop leading, you stop learning. Once you stop learning, you stop leading. ” Or something along the lines of that.

I haven’t had much thought about this particular statement, but it has stuck with me, and I don’t know why.

One last thing: the late-night talks.

I think this is actually the best part of the whole trip. We really got a chance to open up to each other and to deal with our problems.  I got a lot of problems solved there.

And the other days where the seniors went downstairs to talk… the non-seniors from their room came up to our room.  Ah. This was the greatest time. We stayed up past 4:30 after people fell asleep, talking about church and generally, life.

What happened in those rooms after hours is what I want (get your minds out of the gutter). I want that fellowship.  I want deep, meaningful talks with my brothers of Christ in places where people won’t care. Unfortunately, there are a few things that prevent this from happening, such as the separation of households and restraint of time.

Well, anyway, PDYM was good. Great, even. If you could have gone but didn’t, you definitely missed out. I’m sorry.

Goodnight.

2 thoughts on “PDYM reflection

  1. Jason… just curious. So if we just skipped the conference and just had group time at the hotel and stayed up late nights… would PDYM still be great? Did we need to go to PDYM?

    • Of course we still had to go. After all, the stuff that happened and that we talked about during the day was a basis for the conversations that happened at night. If we didn’t have the conference, we wouldn’t have anything to talk about, to see what we needed to fix.

Leave a Reply

