Religion

Our most recent talks in small groups and at school (with a non-Christian) has got me thinking.

Crap, I just lost my train of thought.

Now I must send two people emails before I forget.

Oh yeah, here’s a little riddle thingy.

I am the sunlight
Caressing the world
And blanketing it in my glory

I am gently Prometheus
Breathing life into mortals
And spurring them against what we hold to be true

I am the envy of lust
The thwarter of hate
The fire to spark the deadly sins

I am the flame of the candle
Combusted into the hungry jaws
Of a fire with no extinguisher

I am the talented bassist
Basking in the light of the stage
Your heart is merely the instrument of my choice

I am the blaze of desire
Licking the shards of ice
Embedded deep within your frigid soul

I am the circle of life
For more often than I die
I am reborn from the ashes of the phoenix

I am the ruthless warlord
My dominion knows no bounds
Once you are my prisoner, there is no escape

I am the glass figurine
Balanced high upon the mantle
Shatter me too many times and I cannot be mended again

I am the unanswerable question
Poised on the edge of one’s tongue
Once asked, there is no going back

What am I?

One thought on “Religion

Leave a Reply

